Boards & Commissions

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

There are several appointed commissions that make recommendations to the Board. These commissions are comprised of volunteer citizens who donate their time and efforts to the betterment of the Village. The Village President, with the advice and consent of the Board, appoints all commission members. All commission meetings are open to the public.

If you are interested in serving your Village as a member of a board or commission, please send us your résumé by clicking here

The Village’s commissions are:

Architectural Review Commission 

The Architectural Review Commission (ARC) is a seven member commission, which makes recommendations to the Board regarding the exterior appearance of new commercial and multi-family construction. The ARC also functions as the Village’s historic review commission.

ARC meetings are held at 7:00 p.m. on the second and fourth Thursday of each month (as needed) in the Village Board Room located at the Village Hall.

ARC members include:

  • Chairperson Marty O’Donnell 
  • Vice-Chairperson Joe Coath 
  • Scott Kozak
  • Patrick Lytle 
  • April Goshe
  • Karen Plummer 


Bike & Pedestrian Committee

The Bike & Pedestrian Committee is a seven (7) member advisory committee which makes recommendations on the implementation of a comprehensive bikeway and pedestrian plan, including the identification of improved connectivity between communities, promoting a safe and fun bicycle experience in an around the Village's boundaries through education programs and safety campaigns, and coordinating with surrounding agencies to create a complete bicycle and pedestrian network.

Bike & Pedestrian Members include:

  • Robert Colvin, Vice-Chairperson
  • Richard Ehrle
  • Bob Lee
  • Abby Bellgrau
  • Patrick Smith
  • Ted Thome


Cultural Commission

The Barrington Cultural Commission is a 21-member body whose purpose is to coordinate and cross-promote the many cultural activities occurring in the Village. Many local groups are represented, including Barrington High School, the Library, the Park District, the Historical Society, Barrington Writers' Workshop, Bataille Academie of the Danse and Quintessential Barrington magazine, among others.

The Cultural Commission meets the first Wednesday of each month in the Village Hall at 12:00 noon.

Cultural Commission members include:

  • Dee Dee Gallagher Johnson, Co-Chairperson
  • Dave Nelson Co-Chairperson
  • Thomas Balsamo
  • Diane Soucy Bergan
  • Peggy Crawford
  • Denise Devereux Peters
  • John Haniotes
  • Linda Hovde
  • Leslie Luther Jeschke 
  • Donna Jung 
  • Joyce Palmquist
  • Detlev Pansch
  • Jack Schaefer
  • Susan Smith 
  • Kelly Stachura
  • Lisa Stamos
  • Norval Stephens
  • Brigid Tileston

Electrical Commission 

The Electrical Commission fulfills two main functions: the commission recommends electrical regulations to the Board of Trustees for adoption by the village, and the commission hears and renders final decisions on appeals of decisions of the electrical or building inspector regarding the electrical code.

The Electrical Commission is composed of six members: the chief electrical inspector, a registered professional engineer, an electrical contractor, a journeyman electrician, the chief of fire/EMS, and a representative of an electrical supply company. The chief electrical inspector serves as ex-officio chairman of the commission. The Electrical Commission meets only as necessary. Commissioners are appointed for terms of one year, and serve until a successor is appointed.

Electrical Commission members include:

  • Mike Puplava, Chairperson
  • Jim Arie
  • Terry Niven

Emergency Telephone System Board

The Emergency Telephone System Board (ETSB) is a seven member commission, which makes recommendations to the Board regarding implementing, upgrading or maintaining a 9-1-1 system.

ETSB meetings are held at 8:30 a.m. on the second Thursday of every third month (as needed) at the Public Safety Facility.

ETSB Members include:

  • Fire Chief Jim Arie
  • Police Chief Dave Dorn
  • Assistant Fire Chief Bruce Peterson
  • Deputy Police Chief Steve Ruben
  • Mike Gorzelanczyk

Ethics Board

The Ethics Board is responsible for the interpretation and enforcement of the Ethics Ordinance. The Ethics Ordinance regulates the conduct of public officials. 

The Ethics Board has prepared a document outlining the process for filing an ethics complaint. To view the document, click here or to send an email to the Ethics Board, click here.

The Ethics Board consists of seven (7) members, all of whom are residents of the Village.  Ethics Board members include:

  • Vacant, Chairperson
  • Tim Dunn
  • John Grom
  • Dan LeTourneau
  • Nancy Davis
  • Vacant
  • Vacant

Fire and Police Commission 

The Fire and Police Commission is responsible for establishing the list for hiring and promoting personnel in the fire and police departments (except for the chiefs of each department). For a copy of the Police Eligibility List, click here.  For a copy of the Firefighter/ Paramedic Eligibility List, click here. The Commission also holds hearings regarding disciplinary matters within the departments.

Fire and Police Commission members include:

  • Ray Kean, Chairperson
  • Karen Paul
  • Ward Schell

Fire Pension Board

The Fire Pension Board manages the overall operations of the Fire Pension Fund and its assets, including the investment of money and the administration of benefits.

Plan Commission   

The Plan Commission is a seven member, appointed advisory body which makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees regarding but not limited to Subdivision Plat Approval, Special Uses, and Zoning Amendments (Map or Text).

The Plan Commission's public hearings are held at 7:00 pm on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month (as needed) in the Village Board Room located at the Village Hall.

Plan Commission members include:

  • Anna Markley Bush, Chairperson
  • Dan Hogan
  • Sue Ferry
  • Mike Ward
  • Richard Ehrle  
  • Jeff Anderson
  • Vacant

Police Pension Board

The Police Pension Board manages the overall operations of the Police pension fund and its assets, including the investment of money and the administration of benefits.

Zoning Board of Appeals

The Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA) is a seven-member, appointed advisory body which makes recommendations to the Board of Trustees regarding zoning variation requests. A variation grants relief from certain zoning requirements in unique situations. In addition, the ZBA also hears appeals regarding decisions of the Zoning Official.

ZBA meetings are held on the first Tuesday of each month (as needed) at 7:00 pm in the Village Board Room.

ZBA members include:

  • Patricia Pokorski, Chairperson
  • M. Ryan Julian, Vice-Chairperson
  • Kevin Connolly
  • Kate Duncan
  • Victoria Perille
  • William Fitzpatrick
  • Dave Holtermann