Barrington's White House History

Print

BWH LogoArea residents and leaders are gathering in a multi-year and multi-generational campaign to enhance the Downtown with a vision for an elegant cultural and community center. 

The Village purchased the house from Barrington Realty in 2007 as part of downtown revitalization efforts.  The Village always hoped to find a reuse for the building that would also preserve its history.  This campaign launches that effort and has been officially named "Barrington's White House"; for more than seven decades, the large white frame building has been unofficially knows as "The White House." 

John Robertson   

 John Robertson, the original owner
and occupant of house at
145 West Main Street.
Photo credit:
www.findagrave.com

 
Built for John and Julia Robertson in 1898 by Fred Lines, it was considered the grandest house in Barrington.  John Robertson was a successful area banker and Julia a charming and popular hostess.  The couple hosted many events in the beautiful third floor ballroom and the home was considered the social center of Barrington.

According to campaign chair Mary Smith, "After many years in waiting, Barrington's White House will once again become the gathering place for a multitude of activities and celebrations in the center of our village, and we'll put the 'WELCOME' mat out for ourselves!"

 

 

 Women's Club    Tea House  

 The Barrington Women's Club banquets
were held at the house circa 1910
Photo credit: Tim Dunn

 

 The venue was known to be a
tea house circa 1920
Photo credit: Tim Dunn