200 S. Hough Street  Barrington, IL 60010 | (847) 304-3400

Home » Government » Boards & Commissions » Cultural Commission

Cultural Commission

The Barrington Cultural Commission is a 12-member body whose purpose is to coordinate and cross-promote the many cultural activities occurring in the Village. Many local groups are represented, including Barrington High School, the Library, the Park District, the Barrington Area Artist’s Association, Bataille Academie of the Danse and Quintessential Barrington magazine, among others.

The Barrington Cultural Commission’s goal is to promote Barrington as a cultural hub. We’re bringing the arts alive in the Village of Barrington in an effort to grow our community creatively and bring attention to our artists and highlight our merchants. The Barrington Cultural Commission also works closely with Barrington’s White House to plan numerous events at this beautiful cultural arts center, with ongoing performances and events spanning classical string trios, intimate theater productions, guest lectures, and more.  The Cultural Commission meets the second Wednesday of each month at Barrington’s White House at 12PM.

    Cultural Commission Members

    • Dee Dee Gallagher Johnson, Co-Chairperson
    • Dave Nelson, Co-Chairperson
    • Thomas Balsamo
    • Erin Mast
    • Linda Hovde
    • Joyce Palmquist
    • Jack Schaefer
    • Pam Conroy
    • Lisa Stamos
    • Janette Tepas
    • Peer Lykke
    • Hayley Schommer, Ex Officio
    • Brigid Tileston, Ex Officio
    • Karen Darch, Ex Officio

    Working Groups

     Visual Arts

    • Thomas Balsamo (Chair)
    • Janette Tepas (Project Manager)
    • Barbara Benson
    • Tony Ciganek
    • Rollin Potter
    • Diane Hynes


    • Pam Conroy (Chair)
    • Stephanie Statkus (Project Manager)
    • Mary Anne Block
    • David Conroy
    • Doug Saylor
    • Joyce Palmquist
    • Rollin Potter
    • Joanne Potter


    • Jack Schaefer (Chair)
    • Mary Klest (Project Manager)
    • Stephanie Walker
    • John McLaughlin
    • Pam Weinert


      • Peer Lykke (Chair)
      • Barbara Benson
      • Erin Mast
      • Ken Muson
      • Joyce Palmquist
      • Jack Schaefer
      • Hayley Schommer
      • Janette Tepas
      • Conor Libit


      • Lisa Stamos (Chair)
      • Rollin Potter
      • Clancy Potts
      • Kate Himes



      • Linda Hovde (Chair)
      • Rollin Potter
      • Brigid Tileston
        Cultural Commission