Enjoy Barrington

The Village of Barrington is a non-home rule municipality functioning under the President - Trustee form of government.  There is a distinction in the State of Illinois between home rule and non-home rule communities. Home rule communities have significantly more licensing and taxing powers than non-home rule communities. Home rule communities are also sometimes exempted from many State mandates. 

In the Village, the Village President, Board of Trustees (6 members), and a Village Clerk are elected at large to staggered four-year terms. The President and Board of Trustees are responsible for appointing a Village Manager and hiring personnel to staff the operating departments. 

The Village President and Trustees also serve on various committees, as appropriate.  These committees discuss specialized issues and make recommendations to the entire Village Board. 

Perhaps the most important committee is the Committee of the Whole, which is the entire Board meeting as a committee. The Committee of the Whole discusses the details of upcoming projects and initiatives. 

There are also several appointed commissions (not to be confused with “committees”) that make recommendations to the Board. These commissions are comprised of volunteer citizens. Commissions include the Plan Commission, the Zoning Board of Appeals, and the Fire & Police Commission, among others.


https://visitor.r20.constantcontact.com/manage/optin?v=001Kj9BuGN1cf5eWV_QXRZtIwBTqdiy_KPTVeQj8W9Aqx1peWQgth61lFE-vs6cot64oY0gCcllU_ctEO1zld6dsbQZ5-ygdTcduqSUmpXYmrug2HOFkIa6yx5zr4RrciE3NTeCH-j8_C-gA-GmGoSPAyOHegKcjCVMExTCTNLs7squC-hhDG5rtDZxEpfcU-6XWpaN02F6WIKxr7bpyzQ-pSJpK5rdq4kIiVENy4XzV5uYvLaayRpxYQ_gtJNbmfmdUWLDig8qVqNnsKvaTqFPKJkZZ52FX8GKEFZrtZNLRltros4MJ8buYQ7Qnui_ldeB news updates emergency alerts