200 S. Hough Street  Barrington, IL 60010 | (847) 304-3400

Home » Government » Boards & Commissions » Electrical Commission

Electrical Commission

The Electrical Commission fulfills two main functions: the commission recommends electrical regulations to the Board of Trustees for adoption by the village, and the commission hears and renders final decisions on appeals of decisions of the electrical or building inspector regarding the electrical code.

The Electrical Commission is composed of six members: the chief electrical inspector, a registered professional engineer, an electrical contractor, a journeyman electrician, the chief of fire/EMS, and a representative of an electrical supply company. The chief electrical inspector serves as ex-officio chairman of the commission. The Electrical Commission meets only as necessary. Commissioners are appointed for terms of one year, and serve until a successor is appointed.


Electrical Commission members

  • Terry Niven